A Morning Prayer

IMG_7453[1]

In the morning, O LORD, Thou wilt hear my voice;

In the morning I will order my prayer to Thee and eagerly watch.

Psalm 5:3

Start the day with blessings and open your heart, home and life to them for the rest of the day!

I want to share a sort of testimonial this morning. I read somewhere to not brag on ourselves but to boast in the LORD. I have found that to be so, so, SO true. There is no good, real, thing to brag about on my own. Not one thing good or a worthy spec can be found within 100 miles of me without HIM. On the other hand, having things to BOAST in the LORD over are plentiful to the point of overflowing!

For years, I struggled with praying. I didn’t enjoy it, I fumbled through the same words over and over. It was NOT natural to me and I felt bad for being so [less than gracious] in the holy department but I kept at it out of obligation.

Bible reading was a little easier for me but it wasn’t consistent.  In some of life’s seasons and through all of life’s storms… I would cling to the Word for the power to keep breathing in and out. Other times, I would get busy and daily distractions took over.  Instead of drinking in deeply from the clean, Living Waters,  I grabbed an inner tube and rode the current until the river ran out.

I prayed for the Lord to help me with prayer because I knew it was something I needed to do as a Christian. I knew it was important for me, my family and for others and it was just my selfishness keeping me from it.

More prayers soared to heaven for me to fall in love with reading the Bible and for the discipline and organization to read it every single day.

I learned something. One day, I stopped at a place in the pathway of this journey and I realized that God had already given me everything I was asking for. I just hadn’t stopped to unwrap the requests and bring them into my life. For so long, I was borrowing His gifts and then handing them back or leaving them at places along the way… as I reached for other things.

Have you ever heard that God doesn’t need our prayers to show His power and He doesn’t need us to read His Word for Him to work? The saying goes that He calls us to seek Him because He knows we need those things. He knows where our peace and power come from!

I’ve tried it both ways – seeking Him through meditation, prayer, reading the Bible and listening for His voice or attempting to make it through without those disciplines.  I have decided to follow Jesus! The difference is so amazing … I could write a million words every day for the rest of my life and not find adjectives adequate to describe it. No turning back, no turning back! He is alive and living within me… my life is not the same. A light now shines … it BLASTS through the darkness. My head is now bowed in praise and worship instead of being lowered in shame. My hands lift up in gratitude for HIS goodness, His mercy, and His amazing, amazing grace.

My prayers are celebrations. My prayers are victorious. My prayers are my praises!

Reading my Bible is my favorite part of my day! It is where I find my faithfulness, it is where I see Who goes before me and it is my life’s plan.

My walk with the Lord isn’t perfect but HE is.

My ways are not always right but HE is.

My day is no longer my own. I strive to remember each morning to ask HIM to guide it.

For me, I get up anywhere from 4:00 to 5:00 on average and make my side of the bed as I get out of it.

Depending on the hour I awake, I either immediately make myself a cup of French press coffee and have a quiet time reading my Bible and prayer journaling or I do this as soon as my husband leaves for work.

Before he gets out the door, I pour coffee into his Stanley thermos and a stainless steel cup he carries to work, fill two thermoses with nutrition shakes and one more keeps  his oatmeal (with peanut butter, raw honey, cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon) warm until he is ready to eat.  He has the same thing every work morning and it actually bothers him if anything gets changed. (He is such a creature of habit naturally…)

Whether I have my time seeking the LORD first or second each morning, it comes before any and everything else.

Each morning, my dishwasher needs to be emptied/refilled, the floors need to be swept, the animals have to be fed, the laundry has to get moving, and the bathrooms get a quick clean. There are appointments, tasks for businesses I run from home, writing, and on the list goes. These and anything on my calendar & planner come *after* I seek God to direct the steps for the hours of my day. He is my Advisor, my Coach, my Mentor. He is my Lord and Savior. He is for me and not against me and He will not leave me nor forsake me. He makes a way and His Word is before me for the new adventure of each new day.

He isn’t a God of partiality. What He does for one, Who is is for one… He will do and He will be for another. “For there is no partiality with God.” Romans 2:11

If you are seeking the Lord your God with all your heart and all your mind and all your soul and you have the bountiful provision for your every need, share it! Share your testimony! Shine HIS light brightly into a world of darkness and offer a hope that only comes from heaven.

“And you shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.” Deuteronomy 6:5

If you are feeling a bit lost in your relationship with God or if seeking Him seems awkward and you don’t know how to feel His presence… start right where you are. That is right where He is…

It isn’t a long trip for Him to find you. The moment you call out to Him, you will find your hope for He has been there all along.

 

 

Leave a Reply

